Annual Dinner 2011

Once again the SAICE WC Branch Annual Dinner was an evening of exquisite entertainment put together by Marianne Vanderschuren and her team from the WC Branch Committee. John Gilmour the founder, past-principal and Executive Director of LEAP Science and Maths Schools entertained the WC Branch with a very interesting account of his history leading to his involvement with the programme and challenged the audience to take accountability and ask themselves how they can assist too. In a time when any engineer in the country is concerned about South Africa‚Äôs schooling system and potential to carry out capacity building, it is great to know that initiatives such as the LEAP Schools exist and are expanding their presence. The WC Branch Committee challenges individuals to take up John’s call and get involved in assisting too.

The SAICE WC Branch Regional Award winners, notably VelaVKE, were also at hand to collect plaques for their entries ‘Buitengragt Pedestrian Bridge’ and ‘Reconstruction of MR 172’ which won the Technical and Community Based categories respectively.

Attendance at the dinner was slightly lower than in previous years, perhaps an indication of the economic outlook we are currently facing in the construction industry, despite this a great time was had by everyone who attended. The WC Branch always appreciates member feedback, so please add your comments below.

SAICE WC Branch Committee Nominations

All members are invited to nominate members to the SAICE WC Branch Committee for 2012. All grades of membership are eligible for election. The WC Branch Committee comprises of the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and sixteen additional committee members to fill various portfolios needed to keep the WC Branch active.

Nominations can be made by completing a Nomination Form and returning to:

SAICE Western Cape Branch Secretary
Heath Webb
c/o Aurecon
P.O. Box 494, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa
Fax: +27 (0)86 723 1862

Nominations must arrive no later than 02 November 2011. The Annual General Meeting will take place on 16 November 2011 at the Athenaeum, Newlands, where the 2012 Branch Committee will be elected.

Students interested in getting involved in a SAICE Student Chapter Committee should inquire with the Student Chapter Chairperson at their respective Academic Institutions or via the Contact Page

Social Media

Did you know SAICE has both a Facebook profile, LinkedIn group and Twitter feed. Click on the icons below to follow the links, otherwise get in touch with us via the contact page on this site.

Update Your Membership Details

All membership contact details are held by the SAICE National Office, to update your contact details visit their website.